Thursday, May 30, 2024
HomeBreaking NewsEric Toney: AG Candidate Endorsed by More Than 50 Sheriffs, DAs

Eric Toney: AG Candidate Endorsed by More Than 50 Sheriffs, DAs

Eric Toney, the Fond du Lac County District Attorney who is running for state Attorney General as a Republican, has racked up the endorsements of more than 50 current and retired sheriffs, police chiefs, and district attorneys.

Toney is the president of the Wisconsin District Attorneys Association.

“As Fond du Lac District Attorney, Eric Toney has proven himself to be a tough but fair prosecutor,” said Ryan Waldschmidt, Fond du Lac County Sheriff. “He’s stood with law enforcement by working to keep violent criminals behind bars, encouraging programs to curb offenders from repeating, and ensuring deputies and officers have the legal knowledge they need to make sound decisions on the street when lives are on the line.  Please join me in endorsing Eric Toney for Wisconsin Attorney General.”

“Eric Toney has distinguished himself as a tough prosecutor dedicated to the safety of our communities,” said Ryan Windorf, President of Wisconsin State Lodge Fraternal Order of Police. “He has an exemplary track record of working with police to enforce and uphold the laws of the State of Wisconsin. Eric’s personal and professional achievements demonstrate a genuine support for law enforcement officers, as well as a deep understanding of the complex issues surrounding modern policing. His track record proves he is the best candidate for Attorney General – Wisconsin’s to law enforcement official.”

Sean Marschke, Sturtevant police chief and former President: Wisconsin Chiefs of Police Association, said, “Eric Toney is one of the toughest prosecutors in our state. And, he has the respect of his fellow prosecutors and cops on the street. Eric Toney is clearly the best choice for Attorney General. Violent crime has surged in our communities and we need to get back to basics and get tough on crime. We need a top cop who has experience in the courtroom taking on violent criminals. Now is not the time for a rookie.”

Toney is facing a primary challenger in University of Wisconsin-Madison professor Ryan Owens. We previously wrote about Owens’ endorsement by Waukesha County Sheriff Eric Severson. Both men are seeking the Republican nomination in an attempt to unseat liberal AG Josh Kaul.

Although it’s early, Toney appears to be shaping up to be the choice of more DAs and Sheriffs in the Republican primary; Owens is supported by some politicians/legislators and former Supreme Court justices.

Toney has been endorsed by 26 current and one retired Wisconsin district attorneys. They are:

  • Outagamie County DA Melinda Tempelis
  • Waukesha County DA Susan Opper
  • Bayfield County DA Kimberly Lawton
  • Ozaukee County DA Attorney Adam Gerol
  • Brown County County DA David Lasee
  • Washington County DA District Mark Benson
  • Dodge County DA District Kurt Klomberg
  • Sheboygan County DA Joel Urmanski
  • Calumet County DA Nathan Haberman
  • Winnebago County DA Christian Gossett
  • Manitowoc County DA Jacalyn LaBre
  • Marinette County DA DeShea Morrow
  • Shawano County DA Greg Parker
  • Monroe County DA Kevin Croninger
  • Juneau County DA Kenneth Hamm
  • Polk County DA Jeff Kemp
  • Green County DA Craig Nolan
  • Richland County DA Jennifer Harper
  • Iowa County DA Matt Allen
  • Langlade County DA Elizabeth Gebert
  • Lincoln County DA Galen Bayne-Allison
  • Clark County DA Melissa Inlow
  • Jackson County DA Dan Diehn
  • Douglas County DA Mark Fruehauf
  • Vilas County DA Martha Milanowski
  • Lafayette County DA Jenna Gill
  • Fond du Lac County DA Tom Storm*

Toney has been endorsed by 16 current and three retired sheriffs. They are:

  • Fond du Lac County Sheriff Ryan Waldschmidt
  • La Crosse County Sheriff Jeff Wolf
  • Columbia County Sheriff Roger Brandner
  • Kewaunee County Sheriff Matthew Joski
  • Vernon County Sheriff John Spears
  • Washington County Sheriff Martin Schulteis
  • Dodge County Sheriff Dale Schmidt
  • Sheboygan County Sheriff Corey Roesler
  • Calumet County Sheriff Mark Wiegert
  • Winnebago County Sheriff John Matz
  • Waushara County Sheriff Walter Zuehlke
  • Marinette County Sheriff Jerry Sauve
  • Burnett County Sheriff Trace Finch
  • Monroe County Sheriff Wesley Revels
  • Oconto County Sheriff Todd Skarban
  • Iron County County Sheriff Paul Samardich
  • Sheriff Mylan Fink*
  • Sheriff Gary Pucker*
  • Sheriff Jim Gilmore*

He lists these six police chief endorsements:

Sean Marschke (former President: Wisconsin Chiefs of Police Association) – Sturtevant
Greg Dieke – Wrightstown
William Wallner – Ripon
Kevin Verdine – Rosendale
Thomas Dornbrook – Campbellsport
Tony Barthuly* – retired, Fond du Lac and former DOJ employee at training and standards

He also lists these state and local official endorsements.

  • Fond du Lac County Executive Allen Buechel
  • Representative Jeremy Thiesfeldt
  • Representative Michael Schraa
  • Representative Alex Dallman

In a letter to Owens, Toney wrote that the endorsements are now up to 50. “More than 50 law enforcement officials and the Wisconsin Fraternal Order of Police have endorsed my campaign,” he wrote.

For his part, Owens has listed the following endorsements:

16 Co-Chairs – two each from all eight Wisconsin Congressional districts

4 former Wisconsin Supreme Court Justices and 4 former Assembly Speakers: Justice Dan Kelly (2016-2020), Justice Michael Gableman (2008-2018), Justice David Prosser (1998-2016), and Justice Jon Wilcox (1992-2007)

Speakers Mike Huebsch (2007-2009), John Gard (2003-2007), Ben Brancel (1997-1999), and David Prosser (1995-1997)

43rd Wisconsin Lt. Governor Margaret Farrow (2001-2003)

The Honorable Paul Clement, 43rd Solicitor General of the United States (2005-2008)

Current Legislators

· Senator Alberta Darling (R – River Hills)

· Senator Steve Naas (R – Whitewater)

· Representative Dave Murphy (R – Greenville)

· Representative Pat Snyder (R – Schofield)

· Representative Calvin Callahan (R – Tomahawk)

· Representative Travis Trannel (R – Cuba City)

· Representative Gae Magnifici (R – Dresser)

· Representative John Macco (R – Ledgeview)

· Representative Elijah Behnke (R – Oconto)

· Representative David Armstrong (R – Rice Lake)

· Representative Cody Horlacher (R – Mukwonago)

· Representative Gary Tauchen (R – Bonduel)

· Representative Rob Swearingen (R – Rhinelander)

· Representative Adam Neylon (R – Pewaukee)

Former Legislators

· Former Assembly Speaker Mike Huebsch (R – West Salem)

· Former Assembly Speaker John Gard (R – Suamico)

· Former Assembly Speaker David Prosser (R – Appleton)

· Former Assembly Speaker Ben Brancel (R – Portage)

· Former Senator Dan Kapanke (R – La Crosse)

· Former Representative Bob Kulp (R – Stratford)

· Former Representative Adam Jarchow (R – Amery)

· Former Representative Romaine Quinn (R – Rice Lake)

· Former Representative Mike Rohrkaste (R – Neenah)


Most Popular

Recent Comments